Marrying Miss Martha

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781911420965

Buy Marrying Miss Martha from the digital retailer of your choice right now:

Impatient? Start reading right now in your browser

Life and love in a Lancashire mill town

When Captain Merridene dies, his daughters Martha and Penelope are left penniless. They take an unusual job offer – as teachers in the distant town of Tapton, working for mill owner Jonas Wright. They are charged with educating not only Jonas’s four young daughters, but also the more promising mill workers.

But soon they realise life in Tapton will be more complicated than they had bargained for. Caught up in a riot, Penelope meets a disgruntled worker, Clem Porter, whose family have been brought to starvation by a rival mill owner. Meanwhile, Martha is drawn – against her better judgement – to Ben Seaton, the father of one of her students. And just why is Ben quite so attracted to such a seemingly stern woman…?

The sisters must face hardships and challenges in their new lives, but will they also find love?

This unmissable saga from bestseller Anna Jacobs is perfect for fans of Annie Murray, Margaret Dickinson and Kitty Neale.