Cover of A Hard, Cruel Shore

A Hard, Cruel Shore

The Coast of Death is beckoning to Captain Alan Lewrie...

The year 1809 starts out badly for Lewrie and his ship, HMS Sapphire. They've extracted the sick, cold survivors of Sir John Moore's army from disaster at Corunna, got hit by lightning while escorting the army to England, and suffered a shattered mainmast which may end Lewrie's active commission if a replacement can't be found or fashioned soon.

Then new orders come appointing him a Commodore over a small squadron assigned to prey upon French seaborne supply convoys off the treacherous north coast of Spain, better known as the Costa da Morte, the Coast of Death, where the sea may be more dangerous to him and his ships than the French Navy!

Based out of newly won Lisbon, where Lewrie hopes his mistress from Gibraltar, Maddalena Covilh√°, might move, he's sure of one thing: it's going to be a rocky year.

Number twenty-two in the Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, A Hard, Cruel Shore is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

Praise for Dewey Lambdin

'Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forester' Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

'You could get addicted to this series. Easily.' New York Times Book Review

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800321496

Publication Date:

Share this book