Candle Flame

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781800321465

Once again Athelstan must enter the murky world of murder, where nothing is as it seems.

February, 1381. London lies frozen in the grip of one of the bitterest winters on record. The ever-rising taxes demanded by the Regent, John of Gaunt, are causing increasing resentment among the city’s poor.

The seething unrest boils over into a bloody massacre at a splendid Southwark tavern, The Candle Flame, in which nine people, including Gaunt’s tax collectors, are brutally murdered. The furious Regent orders Brother Athelstan to get to the bottom of the matter.

For not only has Gaunt’s treasure trove been stolen, he has reason to believe a French spy is active along the Thames, carefully recording for his masters the state of English war cogs. And a professional assassin, Beowulf, who has sworn vengeance against Gaunt and his minions, also stalks the shadows…

An exceptional tale of mystery and the underworld from a master of the genre, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, S G MacLean and C. J. Sansom.


The Brother Athelstan Mysteries

Cover of The Nightingale Gallery Cover of The House of the Red Slayer Cover of Murder Most Holy Cover of The Anger of God Cover of By Murder's Bright Light Cover of The House of Crows Cover of The Assassin's Riddle Cover of The Devil’s Domain Cover of The Field of Blood Cover of The House of Shadows Cover of Bloodstone Cover of The Straw Men Cover of Candle Flame Cover of The Book of Fires