A Child of Secrets

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781800324985

She will uncover truths about herself that had previously been hidden…

Lily Clare is the adopted daughter of the rector of Hewinghall. She has never been able to resist taking in waifs and strays. She brings home hungry cats, broken-winged birds, and one day, a filthy girl she finds starving and exhausted in the Hewinghall woods: Jess Henefer.

Lily is fiercely protective of Jess, protecting her from the servants’ hostility and providing her with employment. But Lily, with her strange coloured eyes and her mysterious parentage, has never quite belonged in the smug world of Victorian Norfolk society. As they reach maturity, it is Jess who must become Lily’s protector.

A haunting saga set in Victorian Norfolk, perfect for fans of Iris Gower and Rosie Harris.