City of Shadows

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788635141

Berlin, 1922. A cultured city scarred by war. An eastern émigré with scars and secrets of her own, a young woman claiming to be a Russian duchess and a brazen killer, as vicious as he is clever…

One of the troubled city's growing number of refugees, Esther Solomonova survives by working as secretary to the charming, unscrupulous cabaret owner ‘Prince’ Nick. Against her will, she is drawn into his scheme to pass a young asylum patient off as Anastasia, the last surviving heir to the murdered czar of Russia.

However, their found ‘princess’, Anna Anderson, fears that she's being hunted. And then innocent people all around her begin to die…

A dark and gripping historical mystery, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Isabel Allende.