Daughter of Lir

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788635097

The powerful story of a woman and country struggling for survival, set against the splendidly drawn background of Ireland in the Middle Ages

Educated in the sophisticated confines of the Abbey of Fontevrault, young Finn has only the barest memories of her Irish past. She is destined to return to her native land as Abbess of Kildare - one of the most influential positions in the Church’s gift.

However within months Finn is an outcast, brutally raped by a powerful warlord and publicly humiliated by the Church she had served so faithfully.  She seeks refuge on the islands of Lough Mask, a place of healing for women. Here, she begins to piece together her shattered life, fired with determination to stay independent of all ties.

But Finn finds that the plight of her beloved country still has the power to command her loyalty...

Daughter of Lir is a superb historical saga, perfect for fans of Reay Tannahill’s A Dark and Distant Shore.

Praise for Daughter of Lir

‘Rich and entertaining’ The Times