The Eagle and the Raven

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788632539

The making of a legendary queen, the story of an infamous last stand: An epic historical novel of Britain’s most iconic queen, Boudicca

This is the story of Boudicca, the most famous warrior of ancient Britain and of Caradoc, the son of a Celtic king, who set out to unite the people of the Raven and lead them against the might of Rome.
As the Roman army advances into Britain, pillaging and burning villages to the ground, Caradoc’s efforts are also met with fierce opposition from Aricia, the vain queen of a northern tribe who swears allegiance to the Romans.
When Caradoc is taken prisoner, it falls to Boudicca to seize destiny and finish what he has begun…

This unforgettable retelling of Britain’s resistance against Rome is perfect for fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

‘A novel of majestic sweep, splendid assurance and controlled imaginative power’ Publishers Weekly

‘A big, other-wordly and beautiful novel. Gedge… has brought another age pulsatingly to life’ San Francisco Chronicle

‘[Gedge’s] uncommonly splendid gift for storytelling is again supreme…gives us the daily life and landscapes of Celtic Britain with an almost psychic immediacy’ Toronto Star

‘A tremendously moving portrait of a people who have long since disappeared – entertaining, knowledgeable…Gedge is a writer who can weave a spell with words’ Montreal Gazette