A Fine Retribution

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781800321502

Captain Alan Lewrie is professionally becalmed. Trapped ashore, he must find any route back to sea…

Captain Alan Lewrie and his small squadron defeat four French frigates off northern Spain, winning honour, glory, and renown. So why is such a successful captain suddenly without a ship, or another active commission? Why do rumours swirl that jealous foes’ powerful patrons are blighting his career?

Months on end ashore, even in entertaining London setting up a household for himself and his retinue put him in serious sulks. Even the prospect of a second marriage is fraught with complications.

Then, at last, the Admiralty calls upon him to develop and command a plan to raid French-held coasts, not with sailors and Marines from his own ship, but with a battalion of Army troops carried in a squadron of transports. It’s intriguing, novel, and a way back to sea, but... can he part from the desirable Jessica Chenery? And if Lewrie does, will his foes allow him to succeed?

Number twenty-three in the Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, A Fine Retribution is perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.


The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Cover of The King’s Coat Cover of The French Admiral Cover of The King's Commission Cover of The King's Privateer Cover of The Gun Ketch Cover of H.M.S. Cockerel Cover of A King's Commander Cover of Jester's Fortune Cover of The King's Captain Cover of Sea of Grey Cover of Havoc's Sword Cover of The Captain's Vengeance Cover of A King's Trade Cover of Troubled Waters Cover of The Baltic Gambit Cover of King, Ship, and Sword Cover of The Invasion Year Cover of Reefs and Shoals Cover of Hostile Shores Cover of The King’s Marauder Cover of Kings and Emperors Cover of A Hard, Cruel Shore Cover of A Fine Retribution Cover of An Onshore Storm Cover of Much Ado About Lewrie