Hitler's Secret War

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781800325081

In the shadows was another war… An unputdownable account of the Nazi spy operation and how it ultimately failed

During the Second World War there was, behind the scenes, a bitter conflict was stamped ‘Top Secret’. It was a war of infiltration and misdirection, espionage and assassination. And the Nazis were determined not to let anyone best them.

Revealing the full extent of Nazi’s secret intelligence networks, bestselling author Charles Whiting takes the reader into organisations like the Abwehr, Germany’s renowned military intelligence bureau, and features interviews with key figures like such key figures as Giskes, who fooled the Americans at the Battle of the Bulge, and Ritter, who stole the highly classified US Norden bombsights. There are accounts of hubris, heroism and cowardice; stunning triumphs and excruciating defeats, all out of the public eye and revealed only decades later.

Over a period of thirty years, Whiting met and interviewed a huge number of Nazi and Allied survivors involved in what came to be known as ‘The War in the Shadows’. The result is an extraordinary and gripping story combining great cunning with staggering incompetence.

Perfect for readers of Ben Macintyre and Max Hastings, Hitler’s Secret War outdoes the best spy novel and demonstrates yet again that fiction cannot rival history.