The King’s Marauder

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788638791

The year 1807 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy.

His frigate HMS Reliant has a new captain, he’s living at his father’s estate at Anglesgreen and he’s recovering from a wound suffered in the South Atlantic. At last, there’s a bright spot. When fit, Admiralty awards him a new commission; not a frigate but a clumsy, slow two-decker Fourth Rate 50. Are his frigate days over for good?

Lewrie’s ordered to Gibraltar, but Foreign Office Secret Branch’s spies and manipulators have use for him, again! HMS Sapphire is the wrong ship for the task, raising chaos and mayhem along the Spanish coasts, and servicing agents and informers. And, what he’s ordered to do needs soldiers, landing craft, and a transport ship, all of which he doesn’t have, and must find a way to finagle it all.

He could beg off and say that it’s asking too much, but . . . Alan Lewrie is not a man to admit failure and defeat, and his quest might prove the most daunting of his long naval career.

Number twenty in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, The King's Marauder is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily’ New York Times Book Review

'The best naval series since C. S. Forester… Recommended’ Library Journal

‘Fast-moving… A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff’ Kirkus Reviews


The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Cover of The King's Coat Cover of The French Admiral Cover of The King's Commission Cover of The King's Privateer Cover of The Gun Ketch Cover of H.M.S. Cockerel Cover of A King's Commander Cover of Jester's Fortune Cover of The King's Captain Cover of Sea of Grey Cover of Havoc's Sword Cover of The Captain's Vengeance Cover of A King's Trade Cover of Troubled Waters Cover of The Baltic Gambit Cover of King, Ship, and Sword Cover of The Invasion Year Cover of Reefs and Shoals Cover of Hostile Shores Cover of The King’s Marauder