The Land is Bright

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788631082

The captivating first instalment of The Liverpool Sagas, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Pam Howes

Life changes for the Palin children when Mam dies, and it’s up to twelve-year-old Sally to try and take her place. Sally lavishes all her hopes and dreams on her baby sister Emily, determined that she’ll leave the mean streets of their Liverpool home and enjoy a better life. When Emily is sent to live with rich relatives, it seems like her wish has come true, but the chance is bittersweet.

Sally and her family may face poverty and hardship in Liverpool, but the warmth and love shared will help them overcome whatever the world has to throw at them; Emily, however, wanting for nothing, might find out that happiness is harder to find…

Full of authentic details of Liverpool life at the turn of the century, The Land is Bright is a totally absorbing saga perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Helen Forrester.

‘A family saga you just won’t be able to put down’ Prima

‘The whole-heartedness of Liverpool shines through in a refreshing tribute to Merseyside’ Liverpool Daily Post

Murphy is born and bred, and sets her first novel in her beloved city, giving the book that vital authenticity which makes it so realistic’ Hull Daily Mail

‘Rich in authentic period details, The Land is Bright is a time machine back to the past. This is how history should be written!’ Terrace Review

‘Evocative writing’ Woman’s World

‘Richly nostalgic’ Publishing News

‘A thundering great read’ Liverpool Echo

The Liverpool Sagas

  1. The Land is Bright
  2. To Give and To Take
  3. There is a Season