Last Lift from Crete

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781911591542

Crete, May 1941. Against all odds the Everards must survive a relentless Luftwaffe assault.

The situation is dire for British forces in the Mediterranean. Their ships, with no air cover, have to run the gauntlet of 2,000 German bombers; and can only lick their wounds under cover of darkness.

Nick Everard commands the destroyer Tuareg as it ventures well inside Stuka territory. There they are ordered to evacuate a body of troops, plus an Australian field hospital and thirty nurses, from right under the Germans’ noses. 

The soon-decimated flotilla has to make it round the Aegean, then out of Crete – but only a miracle can save them!

Last Lift from Crete combines gripping personal drama with incredible naval action, and is a must-read for fans of Alistair MacLean and C. S. Forester.


The Nicholas Everard Naval Thrillers

Cover of The Blooding of the Guns Cover of Sixty Minutes for St. George Cover of Patrol to the Golden Horn Cover of Storm Force to Narvik Cover of Last Lift from Crete Cover of All the Drowning Seas Cover of A Share of Honour Cover of The Torch Bearers Cover of The Gatecrashers