The Mercenaries

Publication Date:
ISBN: 9781788636865

A new conflict looms, at the very edge of the world.

For World War One flying ace Ira Penaluna, peace brings frustration and disillusionment. Desperate to continue flying, he accepts an offer to go to China as a commander of the ramshackle air-force of General Tsu, a local warlord.

With him he takes a bizarre trio of misfits: Pat, the boozy, bragging Irishman, more interested in bar hopping than flying, Sammy, the mechanical genius, and Ellie, a tough former stunt-pilot.

But before long this joyride becomes a desperate flight for life. After centuries of poverty and exploitation, China is rising against brutal, corrupt rulers like General Tsu, and Ira’s band of adventurers are branded mercenaries.

A thrilling adventure in aviation, The Mercenaries is a triumph, perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith, W. E. Johns and Dale Brown.



The Flying Ace Thrillers

Cover of The Mustering of the Hawks Cover of The Mercenaries Cover of The Courtney Entry