An Onshore Storm

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781800321519

Lewrie takes on his roughest adventure yet: maritime life beyond the Royal Navy.

Three mismatched troop transports, lots of 29-foot barges, and an under-strength regiment of foot – a waste of Royal Navy money, a doomed experiment, or a new way to bedevil Napoleon’s army in Italy? Either way, it’s Capt. Sir Alan Lewrie’s idea, and it seems to be working, with successful raids all along the coast of Calabria.

But it depends on timely information, and Lewrie must trust either a lord of the Sicilian criminal underworld, Don Julio Caesare, and his minions or the amateur efforts of a disorganized network of needy Calabrian partisans for it.

When at last the fourth transport arrives with reinforcements, what seems to be a blessing could turn out to be the ruin of the whole thing! Lewrie has been too successful in his career at sea and he’s made bitter, jealous enemies who are out to crush him and his novel squadron, no matter if it’s succeeding.

Lewrie has always been lucky, always finding a way to prevail – but can he this time?

Number twenty-four in the Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, An Onshore Storm is perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.



The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Cover of The King’s Coat Cover of The French Admiral Cover of The King's Commission Cover of The King's Privateer Cover of The Gun Ketch Cover of H.M.S. Cockerel Cover of A King's Commander Cover of Jester's Fortune Cover of The King's Captain Cover of Sea of Grey Cover of Havoc's Sword Cover of The Captain's Vengeance Cover of A King's Trade Cover of Troubled Waters Cover of The Baltic Gambit Cover of King, Ship, and Sword Cover of The Invasion Year Cover of Reefs and Shoals Cover of Hostile Shores Cover of The King’s Marauder Cover of Kings and Emperors Cover of A Hard, Cruel Shore Cover of A Fine Retribution Cover of An Onshore Storm