Cover of The House of Shadows

The House of Shadows

A set of horrific killings hints at the answer behind a legendary crime...

Autumn, 1380. Brother Athelstan is very busy. He and his parish council are preparing for the annual Christmas mystery play when a series of brutal murders occur at a Southwark tavern.

Two young whores are found slain but their deaths are only the beginning of a series of gruesome killings which occur around the parish of St Erconwald’s.

He resolves to solve not only these grisly deaths, but also their source - the Great Robbery of the Lombard treasure, which occurred in Southwark some 20 years earlier.

Plots and deceptions abound in this thrilling mystery novel by Paul Doherty, ideal for fans of Susanna Gregory, C. J. Sansom and S. J. Parris.

Praise for Paul Doherty

'His fascination for history comes off the page' Daily Express

'Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history ... evocative and lyrical descriptions' New Statesmen

'An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite' Northern Echo

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800321434

Publication Date:

Share this book