Cover of The Portuguese Affair

The Portuguese Affair

A year after defeating the Spanish Armada, England retaliates.

An expedition to Portugal sets out to destroy what remains of Spain’s Atlantic fleet, drive the Spanish out of Portugal, put the claimant Dom Antonio of Aviz on the throne, and seize the Azores.

But from the moment the English fleet, led by Sir Francis Drake and Sir John Norreys, reaches Plymouth, things start to go wrong.

Christoval Alvarez, returning to Portugal for the first time after her escape to England, sent to carry out two missions by Sir Francis Walsingham, has a more important private plan in mind. Are any members of her family still alive? And what will become of the disaster-ridden expedition?

An immersive and exceptionally researched historical adventure, perfect for fans of S. W. Perry, Paul Doherty and C. J. Sansom.

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781804361115

Publication Date:

Share this book