A Vision of Light

Publication Date:

Ebook ISBN: 9781788633130

A village girl receives a divine vision that will lead her into the chambers of the English Inquisition…

Young, wealthy and twice married, Margaret has a modest enough ambition: she wishes to write a book. But this is 1355, and the notion of a woman wanting to record her experiences and thoughts is not just arrogant, it’s possibly heretical.

Three clerics contemptuously decline to be Margaret’s scribe, and it is only starvation that persuades Brother Gregory, a renegade Carthusian friar with a mysterious past, to take on the unseemly task of chronicling her life. As she narrates her life story, an extraordinary tale unfolds filled with perilous brushes with death, where a mix of miracle and Margaret’s innate intellect pull her through. But this is a world where a clever woman is at constant risk of being accused of witchcraft…

A Vision of Light, first in the critically acclaimed historical Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy is a remarkable novel that challenges all of our notions about women’s roles in the medieval era, perfect for fans of Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton.


The Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy

Cover of A Vision of Light Cover of In Pursuit of the Green Lion Cover of The Water Devil