Mary Jo Putney

Canelo have acquired the Rogues Redeemed series by Mary Jo Putney.

Commissioning editor Emily Bedford has acquired UK and Commonwealth (excluding Canada) rights to reissue the Rogues Redeemed series by Mary Jo Putney from Dorie Simmonds at Dorie Simmonds Agency Ltd in a six-book deal. 

When a group of rogues meet while held captive in the Napoleonic Wars, they swear to change their rakish ways if they ever see freedom again, with each novel following one of the men as they encounter the fierce and passionate woman who will change their life forever. Once a Laird is the latest addition to the series, set on a remote Scottish island and publishing in November.

Mary Jo Putney is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who has written over sixty novels and novellas. A ten-time finalist for the Romance Writers of America RITA award, she has won the honour twice and is on the RWA Honor Roll for bestselling authors. In 2013 she was awarded the RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award. She lives in Maryland with her nearest and dearest, both two and four footed.

Emily Bedford says: ‘I could not be more thrilled to be reissuing Mary Jo Putney’s Rogues Redeemed series for a UK and Commonwealth audience. As a long-time fan of her writing, this is a real dream moment for me – Putney’s historical romances are packed full of daring adventure, exciting characters and swoon-worthy relationships. With the success of Bridgerton on Netflix, this is a really exciting time for Regency romance as we see new readers discovering the ever-popular genre, and I can’t wait to delight them with Putney’s writing.’

Mary Jo Putney says: ‘I'm delighted that Canelo will be publishing my Rogues Redeemed series in the UK and around the world!’

Dorie Simmonds says: ‘We are so delighted to be working with Canelo who will publish Mary Jo Putney’s Rogues Redeemed series. Mary Jo Putney is one of the most highly regarded historical romance authors writing today. Putney’s historical romances stand out with her uniquely elevated writing skill, the fascinating historical details she incorporates, and the meticulous research she puts into each book. The Rogues Redeemed series features soldiers and spies thrown into enemy prison during the Napoleonic Wars, who all swear to mend their wayward ways should they ever escape. Every Rogues Redeemed instalment has been a USA Today, Publishers Weekly and IndieBound bestseller. Fans of Bridgerton and Poldark can now satisfy themselves anew.’

The first five novels in the Rogues Redeemed series will be published in June 2021, in ebook, with paperback editions to follow later in the year, including Mary Jo’s new novel in the series, Once a Laird. For more information please contact publicity@canelo.co