A portrait of J. D. Davies

J. D. Davies

J. D. Davies is the prolific author of historical naval adventures. He is also one of the foremost authorities on the seventeenth-century navy, which brings a high level of historical detail to his fiction, namely his Matthew Quinton series. He has written widely on the subject, most recently Kings of the Sea: Charles II, James II and the Royal Navy, and won the Samuel Pepys Award in 2009 with Pepys’s Navy: Ships, Men and Warfare, 1649-1689.

Books by J. D. Davies

Armada’s Wake.jpg
Battle's flood.jpg
Destiny's Tide.jpg
Ensign Royal
The Devil Upon the Wave
Deaths Bright Angel
Rage of Fortune
Battle of All The Ages
Lion of Midnight
Blast that tears the skies
Mountain of Gold
Gentleman Captain