Cover of 1941

1941

One of the greatest and most terrible years in world history.

‘This war has now assumed the character’, wrote Benito Mussolini, before 1941 was six months old, ‘of a war between two worlds’, and the Italian dictator had rarely predicted more truly.

Before the year had ended, following Hitler’s surprise assault on Russia and the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbour, thirty-seven nations were engaged in an all-out war reminiscent of Armageddon, ‘the battle of that great day of God Almighty’.

Richard Collier’s latest narrative spans both this entire, devastating year, as well as the events that led up to it. From the hunting of the Bismarck through the North Atlantic to the triumphs of Rommel’s Afrika Korps, from the horror and heroism of besieged Leningrad to the debacles of Hong Kong, Malaya and the Far East, this is a panorama of truly world-wide proportions.

An unputdownable narrative of the most extraordinary year in world history, perfect for readers of Max Hastings, James Holland and Anthony Beevor.

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800325920

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800325937

Publication Date:

Share this book