Cover of Blood and Sand

Blood and Sand

‘An astonishing, exciting story with great imaginative power’ Daily Telegraph

Homeland meets Sharpe in this classic adventure from Rosemary Sutcliff.

Based on a true story.

1807, Egypt. It is the height of the Napoleonic Wars. 6,000 British soldiers have invaded Alexandria in a bid to wrest the control of the country from the Ottoman Empire. Among their number is Private Thomas Keith of the 78th Highlanders.

After the initial successful occupation of the city, however, the tide of the Alexandria campaign begins to turn against the British. At the Battle of El Hamed, Keith is captured by the Ottoman forces.

While a prisoner of war, Keith is introduced to Islam and falls in love with the religion, making the decision to convert to the faith and join the Ottoman army. His conversion and skill with a sword impresses the Ottoman general, who sends him to train with the Bedouin cavalry.

So begins Keith’s unlikely journey up the ranks of the Ottoman military, which ultimately saw him become Emir of the Holy City of Medina…

A page-turning adventure, Sutcliff’s magical and enthralling historical novel brings to life all the mystery, savagery and beauty of the time. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and C. S. Forester.

Praise for Blood and Sand

‘The tone is dark and thoughtful, the detail carefully observed, and the flavour unmistakably exotic’ The Lady

‘Sutcliff’s gifts are great: a powerful and wide-ranging imagination, an elegant prose style, the visual sensibility of a trained artist, a fine descriptive gift and remarkable narrative power… The story moves smoothly and with increasing speed and power to its tragic climax, which is perfectly judged’ Independent

‘Packed with feeling and historical fact’ Books

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800327030

Publication Date:

Share this book