Cover of Next in Line

Next in Line

A murder victim with celebrity connections spells trouble for DI Clare Mackay...

Gaby Fox is known to many due to her successful TV career, so when her brother and his pals hire the salubrious Lamond Lodge for his birthday celebrations, it is noted by the St Andrews locals. A ripple of shock goes round the town when Russell Fox is gunned down on the premises.

DI Clare Mackay is attending a wedding when she sees Gabrielle receive a phone call then flee. Soon after, Clare learns why when the news of the shooting reaches her. Instead of trying to enjoy the day – not easy when the groom is her ex-boyfriend – Clare is preoccupied.

Clare gets to work on uncovering the facts surrounding Russell Fox’s death. The guests at the lodge have secrets to hide, but even when Clare begins to unravel the deceit, it doesn’t bring the answers. The detective can’t help but wonder why no one who knew Russell seems capable of telling the truth, and whether there is more than one person with a reason to want him dead…

A thrilling addition to the much-loved and bestselling detective fiction series from a rising star in Scottish crime fiction. Ideal for fans of Alex Gray, D. K. Hood and Rachel Amphlett.

Readers are loving Next in Line

'A satisfying Scotch mystery.' The Times Crime Club Pick of the Week

'A fifth outing for agreeable Scottish detective DI Clare Mackay proves Dundee-based Todd is becoming a master of the Tartan Noir genre.' Daily Mail

'The latest in this series from the brilliant Marion Todd is just as nail-biting and tense as her fans have come to expect. A police procedural with lashings of thrills and kills, along with plenty of good humour.' The Sun

'A thrilling addition to the much-loved and best-selling series from a rising star in Scottish crime fiction.' Scots Magazine

'An excellent addition to an extremely good series of police procedural novels and comes highly recommended.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I love Marion Todd's novels and this doesn't disappoint.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Marion has yet again come up with a top notch police procedural thriller. I enjoyed meeting DI Mackay again. She is an excellent detective who is always completely immersed in her case.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800321038

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800324541

Publication Date:

Share this book