Cover of The Challenges of a King

The Challenges of a King

'Excellent' Stewart Binns, author of the Making of England series

The fight for England began long before 1066…

AD 1045. Godwin of Wessex, one of the most powerful earls in the country, prepares for the marriage of his daughter to King Edward of England. The mood is jubilant, his family’s relationship with the Crown secured through matrimony. But one man seeks to undermine him at every opportunity.

French-born Bishop of London, Robert of Jumièges, has the ear of the king. As a trusted adviser, his position is one of power and privilege, and he wields it to gain ever-greater influence over the English Crown for his kinsmen in Normandy, at Godwin’s expense.

As the bishop’s control increases, the king’s relationship with the House of Godwin frays until, eventually, it breaks down completely. With civil war looming, Godwin fights to pull England back from the brink. But with the king under Norman influence, it could be too little, too late.

The Challenges of a King is the first book in a thrilling new series from K. M. Ashman exploring the politics, promises and intrigue that led three men to contest the throne in 1066, and to the final successful invasion of England. Perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.

Praise for The Challenges of a King

'The Challenges of a King is an excellent read. The historical accuracy tied to a fictional account is highly commendable and the narrative moves along at a gripping pace. The dialogue is sharp and authentic and the story is told clearly and concisely. I highly recommend the book to anyone who loves historical fiction' Stewart Binns, author of the Making of England series

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800323636

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800323643

Publication Date:

Share this book