Cover of The Girl Now Leaving

The Girl Now Leaving

A heart-wrenching and powerful saga of one girl’s journey to adulthood

Lu Wilmott grows up in the Portsmouth slums of the 1920s. Stricken by diphtheria, she is sent to the Hampshire countryside where she discovers a robust fighting spirit and the first stirrings of attraction...

But then she must follow her mother into the city’s grim corset-making trade. Lu realizes that things must change. And she can make it happen.

Her journey from shy child to energetic woman encompasses love, deep friendship, and a growing political awareness. Above all, Lu is a survivor – and one to be reckoned with.

The Girl Now Leaving is a powerful and unputdownable saga perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Mary Gibson.

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781788630306

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781788631419

Publication Date:

Share this book