Cover of The Girl Who Left

The Girl Who Left

Twenty-five years ago, a local girl went missing. Now, another girl comes back…

When five-year-old Elsie Button was snatched from a garden in a sleepy town on the Welsh island of Anglesey, and a local man later confessed, it sent shockwaves through the tight-knit community. How could one of their own do such a thing? Especially when his own little girl was the same age – and the victim’s best friend.

Kathryn and her family left under the cloak of darkness one night, unable to bear the shame, and the anger of their neighbours. She hardly remembers that time. Now, she suffers the consequences of living under an assumed name, always looking over her shoulder. Her dad has not spoken a word to her since he went to prison. She is haunted by the question: why did he kill Elsie?

When another child is taken from the same garden, twenty-five years to the day of Elsie’s murder, Kathryn is determined that this time she’ll be on the right side. She’ll join the search and atone for her father’s deed, and maybe, just maybe, get the answers she wants. But she’s not prepared for the long memory of the locals, nor the risks of going back. Not everyone on the island wants the truth to come out, and they’ll go to extreme lengths to stop that from happening.

A gripping must-read psychological thriller from the #1 bestselling author Jenny Blackhurst. Unmissable for fans of K. L. Slater, C. L. Taylor and S. E. Lynes.

Praise for The Girl Who Left:

Absolutely brilliant and had more twists and turns than Alton Towers theme park. Thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommended. Five stars.’ Angela Marsons, author of Six Graves

Tense, fast-paced and heart-grippingly emotive...everything you could want in a psychological thriller and more. I loved it.’ Steph Broadribb, author of Death in the Sunshine

‘With believable, relatable characters and a cleverly unfolding storyline, The Girl Who Left is a breath-taking page-turner of a mystery, full of dark truths and heart-breaking revelations.’ Susi Holliday, author of The Last Resort

‘DI Maggie Grant will have you cheering, Elsie Button will break your heart. A thought-provoking examination of the lengths we will go to for the ones we love.’ Lucy Dawson, author of The Secret Within

‘An engaging mystery, packed with tension, twists and intrigue.’ Emma Haughton, author of The Dark

‘An electrifying, breathless read’ Woman’s Own

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800329256

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800329263

Publication Date:

Share this book