Cover of A Wartime Summer

A Wartime Summer

Hope and opportunity can come from even the bleakest of moments…

Left homeless after the Exeter Blitz, May must find a job if she’s to put a roof over her head and help support her two younger sisters. Taking a job as housekeeper to farmer George, May soon ends up getting stuck into more than just cleaning and cooking.

The Ministry of Agriculture will close Fair Maids Farm if it doesn’t meet their produce targets, but George refuses to heed their warnings. With only two reluctant Land Girls to help, May receives unexpected guidance from Dan, a neighbouring farmer, whose kindness gets tongues wagging in the village.

But secrets and sabotage lie ahead – can May hold her own in a world she’s unfamiliar with and turn the fortunes of the farm around?

An uplifting and captivating Second World War saga for fans of Rosie Clarke and Katie Flynn.

Praise for A Wartime Summer

'Full of engaging characters and a fabulous countryside setting. A heartwarming and uplifting story that’s hard to put down.' Rosie Hendry

'I got swept away in this wonderful, uplifting tale. I was smiling one moment, crying the next. A must-read!' Vicki Beeby

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781800326606

Publication Date:

Paperback

ISBN: 9781800326613

Publication Date:

Share this book