Cover of Reefs and Shoals

Reefs and Shoals

Pity poor Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy! He's been wind-muzzled for weeks in Portsmouth, snugly tucked away with a Viscount's daughter, when Admiralty tears Lewrie away and order him to the Bahamas!

At least his new orders allow Lewrie to form a small squadron and hoist his first broad pendant, and style himself a Commodore. Lewrie is to scour the shores of Cuba and Spanish Florida, the Keys and the Florida Straits in search of French and Spanish privateers which have been taking British merchantmen at an appalling rate. Lewrie is to be 'Diplomatic.' Diplomatic? Lewrie? Not bloody likely!

To solve the problem and find the answers will put Lewrie in touch with old friends, old foes, and more frustration than a dog has fleas.

As usual, though, Captain Alan Lewrie will find his own unique way to fulfil his duties, and in the doing, find some fun in his own irrepressible manner!

Number eighteen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, this rip-roaring yarn is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily’ New York Times Book Review
'The best naval series since C. S. Forester… Recommended’ Library Journal
‘Fast-moving… A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting charactes: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff’ Kirkus Reviews

Where to Buy

Ebook

ISBN: 9781788638777

Publication Date:

Share this book